Winter Warmer: Hot Pot 2015

HOTPOT15A quicky today – our very own hot pot fest at home – the first of many no doubt this year. The kids love it mostly because it’s quite an active process: starting with a soup base, you choose what you want, load to your little basket ladle, place it in the hot pot, wait for the contents to cook while eating from your bowl and repeat ….. until everything is gone. That’s my Boy diving in 🙂

ETA: Also here – called Suki soup – not sure where I got that from but it’s the same thing.

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Winter Warmer: Hot Pot 2015

  1. GamKau

    nom, nom, nom! my favourite cold weather food!
    I haven’t had much chance to comment lately, but want to say you have looked put together some lovely outfits for the cold weather. I always find cold weather dressing leaves me looking like a sherpa – layered and shapeless, but you manage to look stylish AND warm!

    Reply
  2. Sue

    That’s one of my favourite ways to eat! For my birthday last year, a Chinese friend asked me what I wanted to do and I said I wanted to do a Chinese Fondue (that’s what we call it). And I got my wish! But it’s such a nice sociable way to eat. I might ask for the same this year 🙂

    Reply
  3. lady sarah in london

    I am very interested to learn how to cook this. What is the base stock and what ingredients do you use? In my travels in Lao I remember eating something similar for breakfast, which was delicious. I ve never seen it in London though…

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Oh how wonderful! Well, it’s easy. The soup base is the same as one that’s a broth or to make a normal soup (ie boil/simmer a roast chicken carcass or joint bone with onions, garlic and any other root veg you have lying around, add some organic stock cubes, discard all the bits and that’s the soup base in its simplest form – the only kind I can manage anyway).

      The electric pot does the work for you really. Pour the soup in and cook the prepared stuff which for us are salmon, prawns, steak, sometimes fishballs but I tend to keep it to fresh ingredients, chestnut mushrooms, spinach and baby pakchoy and noodles (presoaked) that can be rice or egg depending on your preference. We have a few tiny bowls of dips such as light soya sauce, chili sauce but to be honest I prefer it without anything added. I am sure you can find the equipment in Chinatown.

      There are many variations throughout the countries in Far East/South East Asia so maybe you could try a Vietnamese/Korean/Thai restaurant? The individual soup dishes are basically a serving of this hot pot but obviously mostly pre-cooked. I saw a version in restaurants in Beijing which were entirely different with hardly any veg at all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

