The Long Road Home

I moved around a bit more than I thought as a child and growing up. They happened after long chunks of time so I didn’t remember them as bad upheaval points in my life. After the usual frenzy of much more frequent and often traumatic moves during the college and early working life years that most of us go through, there was a decade long period of settled domesticity once my kids arrived. When we decided to move, the kids were predictably unhappy to leave the only home they ever knew. In many ways, it was an ideal place for us, comfortable, very spacious, light and airy. But it would never be ours and the changes we invested in over the years to make it seem more ours were the limit so we had to go. The move did not go to plan. We ended up moving twice in 6 months to our current home in 2011. After 2 years I knew we weren’t going to stay and thought again about what we needed as a growing family. Early last year I began to view some houses here.

The first house was a good central location and promised to be a very spacious home. The online listing did not contain all photos of the bedrooms which with hindsight should have been a warning sign. When we saw it, yes it was a good location however, a pavement was entirely lacking on the road in front and driving access to the front door was difficult due to others having to share the same driveway that was wholly inadequate for the residences of the 4 properties let alone their visitors. Inside, the layout was terrible! The bedrooms lined up like at an institution and the living areas downstairs badly arranged. The overall decor was very lacking with major works required. It was simply all wrong!

The second house was a little better. The owners were a very elderly couple with declining health. It was a spacious family home for over 40 years but what immediately struck me as I walked around was that it was completely devoid of anything of value when I knew the occupants were well to do. It was like the house had been stripped and replaced with fairly cheap furniture and fixtures. We actually made an offer that was accepted but it was obvious the couple were not serious about moving out. With hindsight, it was just as well. The interiors had not been redecorated for at least two decades. There was ample living space but it felt a melancholy place. It would have needed a gutting out and starting over.

Third property was the newest and could not have been more different to the previous two homes. It was in a nice quiet location but not remote, close to all amenities but not too close to the town centre. The house itself was in fantastic condition and we would have taken it but for the fact that it was just too small and not worth carrying out the limited extension. It was overall about the same space as we currently have and there’s no way I’d go through the whole nightmare of moving unless it was worth it for something more and better suited to our needs.

To be continued …

Thanks for reading!

 

10 thoughts on “The Long Road Home

  1. Gam kau

    I’m nervous for you! And excited too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    We’ve moved quite often, and though not fun, I feel it is a good lesson in adaptation, especially for little ones. Funny how we are all so resistant to change.
    If you have managed to find a suitable home, I hope you also find sufficient storage to display your beautiful handbag/accessory collection!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much! It’s not so much change because it is something that benefits as all as a family but the moving of stuff that everyone collects over the decades. Storage is always an issue with average UK homes. It’s very disappointing. I know we don’t have much space being an island and all but common sense dictates that people=stuff (ok some much more than others) and they somewhere to put it. I wanted adequate storage for my ‘collections’ but the display part would be an accidental bonus!

      Reply
  2. Vix

    Oh dear, it all sounds awfully stressful.
    I’ve only owned three houses, the first a teeny modern house, the first and only one I’ve ever lived in, which I bought in my early twenties, the second was the Victorian terrace Jon was living in when we met and hopefully, my forever home, the one I live in now. Its bad enough living in a building site when there’s just the two of you, I can’t imagine what it would be like with kids.
    Good luck – maybe give Kirstie and Phil a call? x

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      It is even after we’ve done everything possible to minimise it! This is exactly the point, I wanted a forever home too and it took a while to decide until the family was complete and they grew up a bit. We didn’t buy the house that needed gutting out. I don’t have the energy for any major decorating let alone building work. I must have seen them on TV but can’t remember exactly so I’ve booked marked their website for some inspiration/info.
      OOOOhhh I can’t wait to read about your house featured in the magazine! xx

      Reply
  3. lady sarah in london

    Best of luck. I don’t know where you are looking but throughout the UK we have a serious housing shortage, London being the most difficult.. Perseverance and fortitude just like learning Kung fu. Keep us posted. Xx

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Long Road Home Part II | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: On the Move | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

