Closet 2015: Old and New

As I continue to keep a close eye on my closet, this year I find myself thinking about it in more the longterm. Inevitably, I have a lot of things I want to get rid of mostly in the direction of my growing girls and thinking twice and thrice about any new additions. Now that the Bag Monster has been vanquished or at least lies dormant for a very long time :-), I can better assess my clothes and other accessories. Helpful insights and tips by other bloggers: The Vivienne Files Lady Sarah’s London Fashion Pas

I wonder now that I’m confident about casual dressing, mixing and matching as well as improving my styling, I could in fact anticipate my future needs – sort of my own personal Fashion or rather future Style Forecast – besides the support tights and perhaps orthopaedic shoes. No, I kid you not  – at every health check up my mother has, they always tell her to look after her feet. And I’ve always noticed people’s shoes and feet. If you aren’t able to be on your feet and mobile in old age, then it makes everything else that bit more difficult and worsens some conditions. Besides losing my sight, losing my mobility is the scariest to me. Anyway back to the fashion 🙂 I think I’m certainly on the right track with my cashmere knitwear and midi/flared skirts (and dresses). Plus the denim and shirts/blouses. The key will always be my accessories so I can see playing around with them long into the future. Jewellery will be the special focus because I think the older women I most admire seem to always wear their jewels so well, so effortlessly. And I definitely see colour in my future ..020714_Tommy_Ton_rtw_Fall_2014_slide_056 Zhanna+Bianca+Vogue+Fashion+Dubai+Experience+D2i-WrfGPkOx23FCAF1A00000578-0-image-m-25_1418375675864 25C52A0800000578-2957518-image-m-75_1424200150637 25C52E1300000578-0-image-m-55_1424199087910Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “Closet 2015: Old and New

  1. happyface313

    🙂 So true! I wouldn’t know what to do if sight went down the dumps and I’d be unable to walk and move around…
    And YES, color is wonderful – no matter what age. Probably we get a little less frightful with age. What do you think?
    Have a wonderful evening 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you for your input! I think we should be less afraid of colour as we get older and not more afraid. If you like colour and continue to do so, why abandon it when ‘older’? I can’t imagine you giving up your purple 🙂 Wishing you a lovely Easter!

      Reply
  2. gk

    Women in their 60s – 80s seem to dress (mostly) very similarly, but I think our generation will age and have more variations on personal style. Or I hope at least. It is interesting to think about what we might be wearing in the (hopefully) coming decades. I still have difficulty projected on what I might want to wear in the coming season, never mind the coming decade though!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you for your input GK! You’re right about the women of our mothers’ generation. It’s a uniform they slip into and are expected to wear the rest of their lives. But I noticed in the last few months trying to stop my own mother from wearing any more black than she already does. I know it’s through practicality but really there is no need to wear everything black top to toe, every day especially when her time is her own. She looks great in grey with delicate pinks and stronger pink for example so I want to encourage that.

      For myself, I have finally made peace with my closet lol! If moving house doesn’t have the power to do that, nothing ever will! I have kept the pieces that flatter me but were not necessarily *fashionable* eg A line midi skirts until the last season (already ha!) so this has really embedded in my mind to choose pieces to flatter my shape and life and the rest will take care of itself. If something happens to be ‘in’ great but it’s not a primary consideration. I still look at what the designers are showing of course and will pick on anything relevant no more no less.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

