Linens, Jeans, Cashmere and Trench

LINENSStarted off the day early with linens – Gap tunic shirt and tailored pants, Mango cashmere cardi and My Suelly pointy toe brogues with ancient leather Longchamp Roseau tote. NEUTRALSBy afternoon changed the pants to Gap 1969 grey bf jeans for errands and more house work. NEUTRALS2It started to rain a little so I seized the chance to break out the Zara Girl navy trench for the first time. I had been meaning to buy one for several seasons and it was only available in navy last year. As you can see the 14 Years size fit perfectly, no alterations required. I really don’t like any kind of alterations even the simplest but coat sleeves are among the worst and is beyond my limited abilities. NEUTRALS3The sleeves are roomy enough to accommodate layers (I kept the cardi on underneath) but aren’t baggy and the length is good for skirts/dresses too. I could only justify adding a dark coloured trench to compliment the stone colour Burberry Harbour. GREYJEANS2Top view of the brogues. They’re so comfy, no breaking in required and the perfect neutral for me. The navy linen mix tunic will get a lot of use this year and will be a wardrobe staple. I live in shirts during the Spring/Summer at home. Let’s see how long Spring lasts this year. We are having a staycation this Summer to work on enjoy our new home so I have the best chance of utilising most of my closet for the first time in a very long while.

Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Linens, Jeans, Cashmere and Trench

  1. Jan Graham-McMillen

    Mmmm…. love the blues and warmer neutrals together! Very much on my mind these days. You look sharp and polished. I just cannot make brogues work. My eye is used to seeing them on everyone else, but every pair I try makes me feel like I’m standing in a hole! I ususally manage to figure these things out just when they start to seem dated to everyone else!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks very much dear Jan! Have you ever tried a brogue style but with a heel of say 2″ a slim block shape or a little higher? I’m sure I’ve seen those somewhere and thought of you! I don’t think you have to have a flat but then it’s not really flat – all mine have a 1″ heel which makes all the difference for us littlies 🙂 It’s the detailing on the leather that matters more.

      Reply
      1. Jan Graham-McMillen

        Excellent advice! Thank you. It’s often just a matter of a short-leap adjustment in thinking that helps me “reframe” my ideas about things, and I see what you mean.

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks very much PaPP! The Longchamp is vintage from the 90’s which I think makes all the difference. The new ones have a nylon lining. Mine has developed a little nick on one of the handles so I will have to resort to covering them with Twilly’s for the Summer.

      Reply
  2. gk

    You manage to look polished without looking like you’ve spend loads of time thinking about your choices. Effortless, yet polished! A friend once told me, “you have to think a lot about your wardrobe/clothes so in the end you don’t have to think much about it at all”.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much GK! It’s another big compliment because I really don’t have the time to plan outfits like I used to and to be honest I feel the older I get, the more effortless I should look for fear of being too contrived. Not sure if that’s rational or not! Your friend is completely right and I’m happy to report that from the end of last year, I’ve been reaping the rewards of all my efforts of the previous couple of years.
      I have a post coming up of an outfit I really did take a lot of time thinking about but wanted it to look otherwise 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

