Closet Basics: Black Legging Jeans

SKINNYBLACK4I’m joining (late) with Happiness in Mid Life for my very first Throwback Thursday Link Up

I enjoyed wearing the white version so much last year here, here and here that I put the black version on the shopping list. In both cases I had sized up because I don’t wear anything as tight as leggings so they are effectively skinny fit on me. These are a nice stretch cotton and not the proper denim like these.SKINNYBLACK3A classic colour combination of black and tan H&M Men cotton jumper with Hermès gavroche, silver necklace, CDC cuff and Sam Edelman ankle boots. SILVERI have to make a conscious effort to dress up plain basics. I’d love another gavroche but undecided on the pattern and colourway – this one seems to go with everything!

ETA: I looked at a lot of different long necklaces and held off this particular design due to its apparent popularity but gave in once I realised there are several very good reasons why it is so loved! If you can’t beat them …. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

12 thoughts on “Closet Basics: Black Legging Jeans

  1. Blighty

    Very elegant look Mrs SP, I covet you Hermes necklace and also the scarf – is it Coupons Indiens? it’s a great colourway. I like gavroches a lot particularly when the weather gets warmer.

    Reply
  2. lapin de lune

    Oh, the neckerchief is beautiful! I can barely see the belt but this little detail really brings it all together for me. I seem to struggle to accessorize well, although I’m not sure why. I suppose I don’t prioritize it…….yet I ought to, because these are the things that really catch my attention on other people. A new project for me, at some stage perhaps!?

    PS, very pleased to have found your blog.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much for finding me! I really appreciate your compliments because I have been working on better accessorising for the last 3 years. I started a wardrobe audit and overhaul about 4 years ago and it’s been my ongoing challenge. It helps that I have found some really useful pieces that happen to work well. Investing in accessories is the key. The belt is by Gucci from the 90’s. It has a goldtone square buckle and I wear it a lot! I bought it as a gift for my brother originally and he returned it to me a few years ago after outgrowing it by a few sizes. Another belt of his I use is a vintage brown leather by M&S. In fact I have a slight obsession with belts with many vintage pieces and I’ve kept too many over the decades!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Closet Addition: Leather Jacket | Silk Path Diary

  4. gk

    Wow, this is really a great example of how much your accessories elevate a very simple outfit. This kind of simple basics is what I wear almost all the time, but I look very plain because I don’t put in the effort with the accessories. Your necklace and scarf look SO nice together and make an amazing difference. Do you tinker with your accessories once you’ve selected an outfit, or do you automatically know to choose a certain scarf/belt/necklace/etc.? How do you decide?!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks very much GK! I do a bit of both actually. Like I said I knew it was something I needed to improve so at first it took a lot of time to play around with everything and as time went on it got easier to the point that sometimes I do indeed know exactly what I need with an outfit.

      The general rule for me that I’ve recently noticed is that if it’s something quite dressy or formal like Kelly bags or heels, I usually prefer to wear them with a casual outfit. And I think it also applies vice versa eg ‘smart’ dresses seem to look and feel better when I wear with flats and not too many jewels. But I don’t know if this is because it maintains a visual or an emotional balance! I certainly think the best way I like to wear my Hermes stuff is very much casually. I can go pretty much anywhere and everywhere I need to in this mode with a few minor tweaks. And this is hugely important to me.

      Also I’m beginning to think that all of these things ie scarf/belt/jewels/bags/shoes matter more and more as I get older partly because my clothes are pretty basic classics so my accessories ‘do the talking’ and partly because well, it’s nice to divert attention from the wrinkles 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

