Closet Addition: Leather Jacket

LEATHERJKTThis is a double rarity: all black outfit and a leather jacket! I’m still processing each and the whole thing together in this instance. Lemme tell you the occasion: an engangement party [featuring a disco] of someone in the family not close to me but close [enough] to my children so it was one of those, ‘Alright-I’ll-just-go-as-the-mother-and-not-as-me-myself-and-I’ situations. Always tricky. And we haven’t even got to the clothes yet. I rarely wear all black so I like to make it count when I do.LEATHERJKT3This was one occasion I particularly wanted to get just right. The vast majority of the attendees would be in the 25-35 age group. I’m old enough to be mother to most of them.  And then the weather, not warm enough for me for a dress so that’s out. The solution came to me the night before but I tried something else that didn’t work and the original idea above was exactly right in my head and in real life. I made a terrible mess though making sure with several pairs of shoes out and then having to look for these Jimmy Choo python kitten heels that I couldn’t remember the exact location of due to the recent move.LEATHERJKT4I found this leather jacket a few months ago and couldn’t wait for the first chance to wear it. I searched high and low for the right one – almost giving up – and in the end this one turned out to be more perfect than I dared hoped for – by Helmut Lang! I never thought it would work for me but there you go. And no alterations needed – how great is that? Shortening sleeves is difficult enough on tailored jackets but in leather … So yes I am very happy with it. I’ve always admired leather jackets on those for whom it’s pretty much a standard issue uniform piece but I never found the right fit or colour for me then. The fit was the biggest challenge as I have broad shoulders and am very short so the sleeves and the body had to be as slim cut as possible. It was a long time coming and though I won’t be wearing it all the time, when I do, it makes me feel very good and that’s what it’s all about!LEATHERJKT5Black silk shirt by Theory which is the same style as the favourite in ivory, vintage Gucci belt, Gap 1969 legging jeans (worn a size up) and Chanel lambskin Classic medium bag in navy. I felt comfortable, the right side of youthful if you know what I mean, appropriate and not like I tried too hard although I did in reality because I was so determined to get it right. D’oh! My children made no derogatory comments so yeah I passed! And my son wiped the disco floor with his dancing – he takes after me! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

12 thoughts on “Closet Addition: Leather Jacket

  1. Blighty

    You look fabulous. Your outfit is spot on. Interesting how much thought is entailed in achieving this effortless looking elegance. But you nailed it! The shoes were the icing on the cake. And the leather jacket – it is superb! For years now I have been seeking a light coloured one, without succeeding ( I have 2 cream coloured ones which don’t really work, some how on me cream leather looks cheap/wrong/tacky/grubby). You have inspired me to resume the search. xx

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Too kind – thanks so much! I once had a cream leather jacket too and it never worked for me either! I wasn’t bothered about the brand, but there were several details that had to be right for me. I knew black wouldn’t be the right colour and I was open to either a light or dark grey. It’s a shame this style doesn’t seem to come in other colours. Anyway, I know the perfect one will surely come soon to you! xx

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Very kind! I’ve always been conscious that the jeans/leather jacket is a formula and realised I had to take away as much of the usual normal detailing as possible for it to work for me. It was pure luck this one landed at the Outnet 🙂

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Vix! It’s because I didn’t want to look exactly like everyone else wearing the same combination. I think it’s safest with our beloved vintage pieces 🙂 xx

      Reply
  2. gk

    Perfect, one of my favourite looks on you ever! Of course, with the column of black I’m biased since that’s what I wear, but the leather jacket and shoes are beautiful and really make the outfit “you”. Elegant and contemporary!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Too kind GK! I do love the all black – to me very sleek and Matrix like 🙂 Truly a huge compliment because I ideally want to make it more my own look – thank you so much! It’s not a current season style even but it just goes to show that a well designed piece works timelessly and I do intend to keep wearing it for a very long time!

      Reply
  3. Denise Reed (@denisereed1st)

    This is another awesome look on you, and I really appreciate the information on how you achieved this totally individual take on a community look. Its true a fashion look takes time and effort to be viewed as effortless and one’s own style. You nailed it!!!!!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Too kind Denise – thanks so much! I love that description ‘community look’ 🙂 I wouldn’t be happy unless I tried to do something however small to make it more ‘me’. It helps to sometimes analyse a process although normally, I try to listen to a gut feeling and be more instinctive as I’m rather prone to over analysing 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

