Step Back In Time?

70SDENIMGINGHAMTo my favourite sartorial era, the 70’s! Of course as soon as I chose this outfit, it felt eerily familiar and I’m almost certain my mother wore exactly this combination that long, hot Summer of 1976. Anyone else remember? My 9 year old self wore shorts and a cheesecloth shirt with very fine stripes in the most delicate ice cream colours – I loved that shirt! 70SDENIMGINGHAM3My mother was only 29 then and I’m 19 years older than that now wearing the same things – the mind boggles a bit! 70SDENIMGINGHAM4 The pure cotton gingham shirt is Gap Boy from the first of my twice yearly shopping lists here and the planning stage from last year here, Mango cashmere cardi here, pre-owned denim skirt by Tsumori Chisato with Hermès belt and vintage Cordeau bag in Miele croco here and Via Spiga shoes here and here.70SDENIMGINGHAM6 I just turned up the sleeves once more and added the Marni sandals here, here and here. It takes a lot for my toes to come out – not only the right weather but the fact that I managed to paint them.

70SDENIMGINGHAM7Umm, I’m working on flattening the tum! Believe me, this is already better than it was …. The skirt is absolutely the right fit and proportion for me and it’s the perfect shade of denim too. I have a stiffer, darker denim version that I last wore at Easter but was far too busy cooking to take photos. I searched high and low for new denim skirts but they were never right even though every shop seem to be selling them this year. I’m very happy with the preowned versions.70SDENIMGINGHAMBThe whole thing can also be dressed down with sneakers and dressed up with these crazily beautiful Sophia Webster wedge sandals – the 70’s would be nothing without wedges – and my sleeveless yellow silk shirt here and here.

Wishing  you all a great Bank Holiday and Memorial Day weekends!

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Step Back In Time?

  1. rukshanaafia

    I remember the summer of 1976 , sigh . And I had a cheesecloth shirt and wedges – but they were espadrilles and the blue denim was flares not a skirt . My first and last ( I never found one as good again) denim skirt was bought 2 years later and was my first pencil .

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I LOVE espadrilles – especially the wedge heel ones but have never found any in the last several years. I think the original denims were best and we must be so choosy with the newer stuff – I don’t feel anything is made to last in the same way anymore.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much!!! I find the fit and hang of most of my clothes get ruined by my tummy so was going for the distracting effect of the painted toes lol! 🙂 I hope you are had a great week and looking forward to an even better weekend!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Lime and Flared Denim | Silk Path Diary

  3. Blighty

    Really like this outfit on you, it’s great, I shall try to copy it! Love everything about it – the shirt, the cardigan (love the side slits), the skirt, the belt..

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Spring Blue Run Around | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

