Home Front: Space and Storage Part II

I’m in the process of ‘accessorising’ some of the walls of my house, not with pictures but with shelves and a small cabinet, both were identified earlier here to add to the storage space. It’s still a very slow process and frustrating for someone as impatient as me but this cannot, must not be done in haste.

A shelf is to be added below this cabinet for every day toiletries and make up.

A shelf is to be added below this cabinet for every day toiletries and make up.

Washing/Dressing: My new bedroom lacks 4 storage items I had in my last house and it really shows! Not that the room is vastly smaller now, rather it’s aligned differently and cannot fit all the furniture/fixtures in it I once had (that are now reassigned or repositioned elsewhere).

Lots of light comes in the window and we couldn't ask for more. The shells were collected on my trip to the beach at Cannes when I was 15 years old.

Lots of light comes in the window and we couldn’t ask for more. The shells were collected on my trip to the beach at Cannes when I was 15 years old.

However, we do have a shower room and I’m trying to maximise the space it offers and researching whether it’s possible to install a cupboard for my lingerie/nightwear there instead thus freeing up a few little drawers in the main bedroom. If this is possible, then together with my beauty routine there, I suppose it’s as close to a ‘dressing room’ as I’m ever going to get without a full blown private bathroom suite! I once made the mistake of storing a large bottle of skin toner in the family bathroom in our last house and it was a lovely lagoon blue colour. When I ran out and went to look for it, I found the bottle was empty – my girls had used it all to bathe their dolls in the sink! They normally don’t touch my things but I guess the temptation proved too great.

by Zara Home but I can't bear to part with them!

The cushions are very old by Zara Home but I can’t bear to part with them!

Spare room: Shaping up slowly but surely. We had to abandon the idea of a sofa bed due to a few practical limitations: most open up to a large single size and there’s not enough space, a normal single size is not worth the effort of opening it out, the mattresses were usually poor quality and the fact is that my mother will be the person using it most so wouldn’t want to have to open and fold away everyday or even everytime she visits. The perfect compromise was a day bed. It means we could choose an excellent quality mattress and the bed easily transforms into a sofa with a few scattered cushions like so. Also, she can take her naps whenever she feels the need. Additionally, it’s a decent bed for the kids’ friends during sleepovers, without having to rearrange their own bedrooms.

An update and refresh of all our bed linen is long overdue ...

An update and refresh of all our bed linen is long overdue … I would like to put a very beautiful picture in that space. The small shelf unit is very old and I found it in a charity shop on a South London High Street in the 90’s.

There’s a bonus which I swear never entered my mind until we had moved and I realised my beloved shoe shelf would have to live in the spare room and not my bedroom. I have gained a bit of extra storage space for my own things that once used to live in my bedroom so it’s not a case of more space for more stuff.

Only the bedframe and mattress are new.

Only the bedframe and mattress are new.

On the right wall there’s going to be a shelf unit with pegs for hanging below to be added and the white cupboard just seen will house a small amount of out of season items – not sure what exactly yet. Behind the door on the left is my shoe shelf. It’s dark wood like the small beside shelf and I like that with the turquoise blue of the walls but we have to mix it with the white cupboard we already had. However, I’m toying with the idea of new venetian blinds in dark wood  …

Just heard that yes we can go ahead with the lingerie/nightwear cupboard – yay!

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Home Front: Space and Storage Part II

Leave a Reply

