Closet Addition: Black Cashmere Coat

TRAPEZECASHMERE3So me and coats, coats and me, we go a long, long way back. I was always drawn to the classics and that’s how I went through the terrible 80’s wearing them with massive shoulder pads before finding vintage treasures that fit beautifully everywhere – then the next two decades avoiding shoulder pads altogether with softer shapes and trenches.TRAPEZECASHMEREBut I don’t think I ever owned a black coat strangely enough until about 5 years ago with this Burberry wool mix trench and long sweeping number by Austin Reed. And an unlined pea coat by Theory (now promised to my Tween). I needed an easy style – cashmere – not long but not short either – knee length. I was prepared to wait but had sort of reconciled myself to one from Max Mara if I could find it with real buttons and button holes – not those press stud excuses! Don’t get me started on that sort of thing 🙂 Imagine my incredulity at stumbling across this little treasure!TRAPEZECASHMERE4Exactly as I wished for and more – it’s by Hermès, preowned but in almost unworn condition. I can tell you that it’s the details which delight further: leather buttons, leather line pockets and leather under the back collar. It’s a double face cashmere, so no lining. It’s fair to say I’m passionate about coats! I think they set the tone for the Autumn/Winter season and there really is a coat for every nuance of weather in the UK climate …. that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it 🙂 Most of the time, especially if commuting, most people only ever see our coats and what’s the point of wearing a wonderful outfit when your coat is the wrong shape or worn out?CHEVRONSILK2I have to add that vintage coats are worth their weight in gold for me at least. The cut is much more petite friendly and the quality of materials and production were superior. ‘In those days’, people bought only the one or two coats their entire life (one for everyday and the other for best to go to church) so they had to last.CHEVRONSILK3It was mild enough to dress like for Spring and no socks. The Trim is a great navy which has grey undertones helping to break up the black. I planned to wear a skirt and knee boots but just felt wrong and couldn’t make it right so pulled on the black leggings jeans and slippers instead – at least the top half was ok!

Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Closet Addition: Black Cashmere Coat

  1. happyface313

    🙂 Congratulations on the lovely coat! I like it from the front – but from the back it’s just as classic. Excellent.
    Isn’t the Trim a great bag? It looks more anthracite on the photos than navy, but it both ways it works for you.
    Have a good evening! 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! I’m happy that the cut of the coat is classic with a few details to make it a little different: the flare, the high split at the back and leather additions. The light is not good to show the true colour of the Trim but you could be right in that it is anthracite with a navy undertone – you never know with vintage H! Wishing you a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  2. dottoressa

    Beautiful coat and a great find! I like the shirt,too.
    I agree with you about coats,almost six months per year here to wear them!
    Have a nice weekend
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! My silk shirt is one of a many that I used to wear with skirts but that looks too formal nowadays and I make the effort to wear them with jeans instead which suits my life better. Have a great weekend!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Closet Audit : Shopping List A/W 2015-6 | Silk Path Diary

      1. lady sarah in london

        I see- so behind your lovely, soft exterior, lies a woman with nerves of steel! 😃 Vestiaire collective has some of the worst photos and descriptions known to man, you have to be virtually psychic to understand them. Did you ever have to return anything? And japanesese resellers, wow! Do you have to pay import duties? And how on wary do you communicate?

      2. silkpathdiary Post author

        Lol! VC is not the easiest to use, ’tis true! It helps that I’m quite specific in what I buy from there plus this is where I can write in French to the French/Belgian/Swiss sellers and believe me it does help. And yes, returned only a couple of things (in 4 years) and they’ve made it easier than ever now. With the Japanese reseller, I have to be to the point, very plain and simple but always, always extremely polite. There are always import duties, one can never avoid those but one can reduce the amount, that’s the best that can be done.
        Please do spill about your sources!

  4. Pingback: Silk Spots and Cashmere | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

