Packing: Short Breaks Part 2

An adjustment had to be made due to the unseasonally mild weather we’re having – please don’t let that statement be a jinx! I have to consider pieces more aligned to a cool Spring than true Winter mode. This means an emphasis on layering with each one being light so that together we’re able to keep warm enough should the temperature take a dip. I’ve dug into the archives and found some answers:greybluescaviar2Although these outfits are from over 2 years ago, I still feel they’re relevant and will continue to work despite flunctuations in my girth 🙂 I passed these grey skinny jeans onto my Teen Girl who looks wonderful in them – I still have the bf grey jeans.greybluescaviarIt occured to me to try a reverse type of layering, a shirt over a knit to keep warm. Also instead of the plain cashmere wrap, I now have the H shawls which adds colour and pattern to break up the neutrals.JEANScchscarfbf2I still really like brown accents with blue and as I gave this scarf to my mother, the Coup de Fouet will substitute very well.IMG_0056I present to you this layout of my Teen Girl’s packing. She disappeared in her room for an hour or several [I lost track caught up with something else] and re-emerged announcing she’d finished packing. She had to edit to actually fit everything in her roll along but was mostly there. Her toiletries are in the little vanity bag above (a very useful little gift from Grandma a few years ago). That pale fluffy thing top right corner is one of those faux fur throws she insisted on taking despite my best efforts to gently dissuade [it was originally a xmas gift a couple of years ago from my sister in law which Teen immediately relieved me of …]. The purple velvet tee bottom left is was mine by Whistles from the 90’s and the red velvet tee under it by TopShop was another favourite worn with some black crepe pants. I must try to find a photo of myself wearing either top, that would be fun to compare and contrast, no?PACKINGDEC15Here’s my effort sticking to black/greys/navy with touches of ivory/white and bronze/mink : two Hermès shawls and two 90cm scarves, black suede booties by Michael Kors, washed caviar single flap Chanel bag, brocade skirt by Valentino, grey cashmere jumper by Eric Bompard and cardi by Mango, Hermès mink cashmere twinset, black and navy cashmere jumpers by Iris and Ink and Gap Men, a rolled up bundle of layering tees, lingerie bag, black trousers by H&M, navy and ivory silk shirts by Theory, cotton shirts by Gap Boy, Gap Women and MIH Jeans, various jeans by Gap 1969, bedtime tees and silk camisoles. The missing items are the selection of jewels, 2 belts, toiletries and the brown Bally lace ups that I’ll be wearing to travel along with jeans, jumper, shawl selected from the above topped off with the J Crew peacoat.

Wishing you all a fantastic Festive Season – thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Packing: Short Breaks Part 2

Leave a Reply

