London: Hermès and Dim Sum

BONDST2 I took our youngest Sweetie Girl to London, just the two of us the other day and there was much excitement. It seems my first destination is always to Hermès 🙂 but she was ok about that. Bond Street had a lot of scaffolding and cranes at regular intervals from New Bond Street right up to Green Park.HWINDOWOne of the Hermès windows which appealed especially to my SG who loves gymnastics. HCAFEI dropped off a bag for assessment and repair and afterwards looked around. The other times it place was quite busy so led by SG, we wandered into the Homeware section and noticed the terrace was open …. The suited Monsieur there beckoned us to have a seat and enjoy some complimentary refreshments. What was that about not accepting drinks from strangers we’re always telling the children?? HCAFE2The tables were all shaped like different animals and of course SG took an age deciding where she wanted to sit.HTEA5 There was a 4th mini madeleine in a chocolate orange flavour that SG disposed of too quickly.HOMEWARELooking back into the Homeware section. K28Re-introducing my K 28 box Vert Foncé from here.CLOSEHCAFE I chose a green tea. Fortunately SG was as happy to linger and enjoy the hospitality as much as me … by the end of which she announced that she liked this place! It was her first time there. We had to press on to the main focus of the day’s trip passing back through Homeware and these beautiful glasses.1464363274342And back down into Old Bond Street.MINIFENDI The Fendi window. I love that bag!BONDSTA chic passer by. We were on our way to The Science Museum.K28VERTA pit stop outside on a very convenient bench where SG had to have her packed lunch. This is the true green of the Kelly. We enjoyed a very good time in the museum and left just as it was getting really busy. By this time SG was very keen to sample Dim Sum in a restaurant in Chinatown. Dim Sum is a traditional kind of Chinese ‘breakfast’ of assorted steamed and fried foods mostly in small portions. I am not an expert by any means and enjoy only a few of the dozen or so different dishes.CHINATOWN IMAG2228We went to Golden Dragon which is at the Wardour Street end of Gerrard Street. I last stepped into this restaurant in 1998! The reviews for it were good so I was hopeful we would get ok service and food. The restaurant was very full and we were politely directed upstairs – not ordered – sometimes the staff can appear abrupt but it’s usually nothing personal. There were mostly Oriental customers which is usually a good sign ….1464363271235 SG and I were directed to the smallest table they had which seated at least 4. The menus were clear and easy to follow in both Chinese and English with good photos and we had no trouble selecting our favourites. Above from the back are ha gao, cheung fun and chicken and sweetcorn soup which is a must for SG. She is not at all a fan of Afternoon Tea like her big sister. As for our Boy, well I’m afraid he is not a fan of London at all for a start …. but does enjoy most Food!1464363271161I am sorry for the unappetising photos but our selection was very good! We stuck to steamed dishes, here are steamed glutinous rice packets and sieu mai. The staff were polite and friendly and didn’t insist on talking at me in Chinese when I obviously could not – this happens regularly. Our experience was better than expected. I wanted to keep to a central London but we enjoyed a great dim sum at Pearl Liang in Paddington some time ago (will add the post link when I can find it). Hmm I have a feeling this may be the start of a long tradition – Hermès and Dim Sum 🙂PV

We picked up some treats for the family on our way home from Patisserie Valerie.

Thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “London: Hermès and Dim Sum

  1. happyface313

    🙂 Looks and sounds like you two ladies and a wonderful time.
    What a treat to be invited to tea and biscuits by Hermès.
    You green Kelly truly is beautiful. May I ask how old it is?
    Have a lovely start into the new week 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! Well this is the mystery, my Kelly does not have a date stamp, one of those rare things that happens from time to time. From the strap closure and other things, I guess she is from the 1980’s. Hope you have a great week!

      Reply
  2. dottoressa

    What a a lovely day! Your girl is so sweet!
    Really nice green colour of your Kelly
    I have to check my photos and diary but I’m quite sure I was in Golden Dragon more than 10 years ago. I love Dim Sum and the restaurant was nice
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      It was indeed and I’m so grateful we got to enjoy it together. Well, the Artisan was on holiday so I will have to wait until she returns and works her way through the backlog. This will not be a basic repair I know that already so I must wait and see.

      Reply
  3. dottoressa

    Italians do,too!
    How many weeks of holidays (or days) could you get in summer (or all together)?

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I know that some companies and businesses close for the whole month of August in Paris therefore their workers have no choice but to take their annual leave in one go then as well. Never knew it happens in Italy too! I was told the Artisan was away ‘this week’ only so hopefully she will be able to get back to me in the next month or so 🙂

      Reply
  4. gk

    (I didn’t send you the link because she ends up parting with her Hermes, I sent it because I thought it was interesting she was on a buy/sell FB group so it was just fyi!) 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you! The link is most interesting as I love to see how others approach their own wardrobes and style evolution. I didn’t see the FB group – must check that out too although I am not at all active on FB.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Kelly Green | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

