Closet Audit #1378: Edit, edit, edit

Washable silk shirt by M&S

At least it feels like #1378! In the old days, for decades, I read all the articles about how to obtain the ‘perfect wardrobe’ that I came across. It’s only much later that I realised it exists for that particular phase of your life whichever it happens to be – as we are always changing however slowly. If I had understood this properly at the start, I would have had a chance to also understand the requirement to regularly edit in order to keep/make space for future additions as the seasons, time and life goes on. So when I did finally start to tackle my wardrobes about oh five years ago, I had a decade’s old backlog! I’ve been editing ever since but am still dealing with the backlog, once this is done, I will be able to edit about 3times a year which should work with my twice yearly shop. OK, so above is one wardrobe of my skirts, trousers and jackets. No – this is after an edit the other day lol! I know, still too full but it’s getting there. There will be more editing before the Summer gets into full swing.This is the other wardrobe of dresses and shirts, blouses and a few jackets. Again, I’ve already taken some things out but it’s still full. There is one chest of drawers with all my jumpers/cardis and scarves plus smaller drawers for lingerie so in my mind I would like to only have the one wardrobe. [My bags are stored on shelves above and below the hanging rails.]

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Closet Audit #1378: Edit, edit, edit

  1. SA.

    Thank you for bringing this up. One of my major issues with editing is it leaves me with enormous guilt to take out the items that I don’t wear anymore. It makes me feel like a failure at so many levels (the extra weight I might have put on, buyers regret all over again for making such a bad choice etc, etc). I am trying to make better decisions before buying now. But, it is quite a learning process.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts SA! It does take time and practise to make better decisions and you will get there! Just don’t beat yourself up 🙂

      Reply
  2. rukshanaafia

    Tbh my main problem with editing is the regret when I’m looking for something and realise I have ruthlessly edited it away !

    Reply
  3. dottoressa

    You have a lot of beautiful things-you have to keep them
    And I feel less guilt with not-very-minimalist wardrobe,too.
    I buy only a few items per year now and keep the drastic decluttering measures for my planned move to apartement in a couple of years from now
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you! I really like your forward planning.
      Sometimes I think I’d like to be the sort of person who opens their one little closet and there are only 6 things hanging in there lol but it’s just not me and I would get bored. I know better what suits me now that still allows for enough variety.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

